Really don’t do it!!!! It is a criminal offense to generate a motor vehicle in the Commonwealth of Kentucky that is not insured. You could go to jail! It is not truly worth it. Felony fees will be in your long term. I have represented many men and women who have built the blunder of driving with no car insurance coverage. They don’t want to go to jail and they will shell out me to help them retain this from happening. The Kentucky Statutes tends to make it a criminal offense to own a motor vehicle with no possessing in “complete force and impact” motor vehicle insurance coverage as needed by state regulation. The statute also tends to make it a criminal offense to generate a motor vehicle with no motor vehicle insurance coverage.
Penalties for “No Insurance” are:
– A fantastic from a bare minimum of 5 hundred dollars ($500.00) up to a most of one thousand dollars ($one,000.00) and/or up to ninety days in jail.
– Have the registration of the motor vehicle revoked and the license plates of the vehicle suspended for one 12 months (one) or until these time as evidence of insurance coverage on the vehicle is received.
If you are caught driving with no insurance coverage a 2nd time or more in just any 5(five) 12 months interval, the operator/driver will have his operator’s license revoked and could be sentenced to up to one hundred and eighty (one hundred eighty) days in jail. You will be fined a bare minimum of one thousand (one,000) dollars up to a most of two thousand 5 hundred (2,500) dollars. You could also be ordered to shell out court expenditures.
All of these penalties are subject to conditional discharge (this is a kind of probation), suspension, or other varieties of reduction of penalty by the judge when you exhibit evidence of insurance coverage. This is normally evidence of a six month compensated up policy of insurance coverage. You will have to seem in court soon after six months to exhibit yet another six month compensated up policy. Failure to seem could end result in your license remaining suspended. If you terminate your insurance coverage for the duration of this interval you are responsible of yet another criminal offense and could acquire an added ninety (ninety) days in jail.
As you can tell the penalties for No Insurance get progressively even worse. The base line is, don’t generate with no insurance coverage. By no means, ever, below any circumstances. No Excuses! The effects could impact you for the relaxation of your lifestyle. Really should you generate with no insurance coverage and injure a person in an auto incident, their Uninsured Motorist Protection would shell out for their suffering and struggling and out of pocket costs. Their insurance coverage business would then sue you individually to recuperate the revenue they compensated to the wounded person. And think me you will have to shell out back again their insurance coverage business. If arrangements are not built to do so, your driving privileges can be suspended until the judgment is compensated in complete. If you don’t, and you are driving on a suspended license you are wanting at even bigger fines and possible jail time.
If you are unlucky adequate to strike a person while driving with no insurance coverage, their Collision and Uninsured Motorist Protection, ought to protect them. But if you are billed in prison court the effects will not be great for you. They will be equipped to gather their out of pocket costs from you, the prison defendant. You will be place on probation in most circumstances if this is your very first offense and will be ordered to shell out any out of pocket costs that they have as restitution. Below most circumstances this is the deductible on their Collision insurance coverage. Really should you fall short to shell out the court ordered restitution you will most likely spend some time in jail. The preference is yours. Even if you are in an incident that is not your fault, if you don’t have insurance coverage you are still intensely penalized. You will be billed with the prison charge of “No Insurance” and are liable for the very first $10,000.00 of your own health-related payments and/or misplaced wages. This is not a thing that can be gathered back again from the At-Fault social gathering or their insurance coverage business. You are liable for it below all circumstances. While, I do not concur with this regulation, it is the regulation in Kentucky at this time. Really don’t place oneself in this problem.