If you are considering starting a business in Texas that will involve the sale of alcohol, such as a bar or restaurant, you need to make sure you follow all the regulations in place to avoid unnecessary fines or closure. The Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission is the institution in Texas responsible for regulating all alcohol sales. While the exact licensing you need depends on the type of business you are running and what kind of drinks you plan to sell, you will need to obtain a Texas alcohol permit. Here is some important information on what to expect when applying for a liquor license.
There are certain requirements a business owner must meet in order to apply for and obtain an alcohol permit. The individual must be at least 21 years old, be a law-abiding citizen, and reside legally within the United States. To be considered a “law-abiding citizen”, the applicant cannot have any felony convictions within the past five years, no moral turpitude violations of liquor laws within the last six months, and no violations of state liquor laws within the past two years. The location of the business must be at least 300 feet away from schools, churches, and public hospitals. It takes an average of 45 to 60 days to obtain a license but can take longer.
Types of Beer and Liquor Permits
It is important that business owners do adequate research or seek help to determine exactly what types of permits are needed. There are several circumstances that will require additional licensing. For example, if you plan to sell mixed drinks from unsealed containers, a mixed beverage permit will be required. If you plan to sell packaged drinks for off-premise consumption, a package store permit will be necessary. To make and sell your own alcohol, a winery permit is required.…